Advertise Your Business Here!

Byron Westmorland Adds NABC All-Atlantic First Team Honors PDF Print E-mail
Written by media relations   
Saturday, 23 March 2013 13:44

KANSAS CITY, MO. -- The National Association of Basketball Coaches (NABC) announced today the 2013 NABC Coaches’ Division II All-District teams and coaches, recognizing the best men’s collegiate basketball student-athletes and coaches in the division. Bowie State University senior Byron Westmorland received Atlantic First Team honors.

 Selected and voted on by member coaches of the NABC in NCAA Division II, these student-athletes represent the finest basketball players across America. The 89 student-athletes, from eight districts, are now eligible for the NABC Coaches’ Division II All-America teams, selected by the NABC.

 Westmorland’s other season accolades include 2012-2013 All-CIAA Team, the 2013 CIAA All-Tournament Team, 2013 CIAA Tournament MVP and Daktronics All-American Team Honorable Mention. Westmorland ranked second in CIAA scoring and ranked seventh in NCAA Division II for total points and points per game with 678 points and 23.4 ppg.

 Located in Kansas City, Missouri, the NABC was founded in 1927 by Forrest “Phog” Allen, the legendary basketball coach at the University of Kansas. Allen, a student of James Naismith, the inventor of basketball, organized coaches into this collective group to serve as Guardians of the Game. The NABC currently claims nearly 5,000 members consisting primarily of university and college men's basketball coaches. All members of the NABC are expected to uphold the core values of being a Guardian of the Game by bringing attention to the positive aspects of the sport of basketball and the role coaches play in the academic and athletic lives of today's student-athletes. The four core values of being a Guardian of the Game are advocacy, leadership, service and education. Additional information about the NABC, its programs and membership, can be found at www.nabc.org.




First Team Second Team

Alex Falk, West Liberty Darrell Blanton, Gannon

Whis Grant, East Stroudsburg Nick Novak, Pitt-Johnstown

Luis Leao, Mercyhurst Trevin Parks, Johnson C. Smith

Chad Moore, Shepherd Angelo Sharpless, Elizabeth City

Isaac Thornton, Fairmont State Devin Taylor, Slippery Rock

Byron Westmorland, Bowie State


Coach of the Year: Jim Crutchfield, West Liberty University